Paula Malcomson on Giving Mrs. Everdeen a Name

Mrs. Everdeen, Prim Untagged

EW Caught up with Paula Malcomson, aka Mrs. Everdeen, who talks about filming ‘Catching Fire’ and reveals what first name she has given her character.

“There’s not a lot on the page,” Malcomson told me about the role, but adds, “When I read those books, I was excited about the possibilities and felt like this could be a really fun role.” Although Malcomson quickly realized she had become a little too invested in creating weight to her performance.

“In the first movie, I was doing it for real. I didn’t want to show up and be all pretty. I wanted to go in there and be hungry, be oppressed. I quickly realized I was acting like I was in a different film from the rest of the cast [laughs]. I just think there’s a heaviness that I was bringing that I don’t know if it was the story they were trying to tell in this. But there’s such a great character progression with her. She has this rebirth throughout the series, so I play it out in my head a lot.”

In creating an elaborate backstory for her character, Malcomson also created a first name for her character. “I named her Clara,” she tells ETonline. “I don’t know why, but that just came to me.”

So, what do you think of Clara being Mrs. Everdeen’s first name?  I have to say that by looking at her, I can definitely see her being a Clara, but maybe that name is a bit too common for Katniss’s mother? Or maybe not. Let us know what you think!

Source

 

One response to “Paula Malcomson on Giving Mrs. Everdeen a Name

  1. Very good such a fantastic site. Where different could anyone get that form of info composed in that great way? Excellent appearance that I am presently writhing upon, u have been for the be aware of these great data.

Leave a Reply

