Listen to a Preview of Imagine Dragons’ “Who We Are” From the Catching Fire Soundtrack

We’re loving all of the song previews were getting from the upcoming soundtrack for The Hunger Games: Catching Fire and luckily we’ve got one more for you!  Yahoo! release a 90-second preview of Imagine Dragons’ contribution to the album, “Who We Are.” Click on the image below to listen.

imagine dragons who we are


Yahoo! Movies Argues That the Catching Fire Soundtrack is ‘Way Cooler’ Than the First One

Yahoo! Movies thinks that the soundtrack for Catching Fire has a bigger coolness factor than the first movie’s soundtrack, “Songs From District 12 and Beyond,” and have presented five reasons why they think this is so.


1. It fits with the movie plot better.

“The Hunger Games,” while set in a variety of locations, including the titular games, was really more about Katniss herself (Jennifer Lawrence) and her desire to survive so she could return home. “Catching Fire” takes the plot way outside of the rustic District 12, and focuses on Katniss becoming a national symbol of revolution. So clearing out the folksy sound for something more varied, more cosmopolitan makes sense.

2. Patsavas knows what she’s doing.

Say what you want about the “Twilight” films – they had killer soundtracks, and the woman behind them and other iffy but always musically on point projects is Patsavas. When it comes to pop culture soundtracks, she’s got the Midas touch.

3. There’s a lot of variety among the artists, and that’s a good thing.

The first “Hunger Games” soundtrack mostly stayed within a certain country-inspired genre wheelhouse, but this one’s got everything from atmospheric rockers The National to certified diva Aguilera. And, judging by “Atlas” and the released snippet from Aguilera’s “We Remain,” each artist is free to keep their own style, ensuring an eclectic mix of related tunes.

4. This is new music from some artists who haven’t released anything in a while.

Coldplay hasn’t dropped an album since “Mylo Xyloto” in 2011. Sia and Mikky Ekko (who was featured on Rihanna’s “Stay”) haven’t released any solo material since 2010.

5. It’s mainstream-friendly, but still really, really cool.

The first “Hunger Games” soundtrack only released two singles, and they were both by Taylor Swift. There’s way more star power on this album by household names like Aguilera, Imagine Dragons, and Smith, but there’s plenty of cult not-quite-mainstream talent, like 16-year-old rising star Lorde and experimental icons Antony and the Johnsons, who boost the album’s overall cool cred up to impeachable levels.

Do you agree with this? Since we haven’t heard much from the album yet, it’s impossible to determine which is better — or cooler — but do you think Yahoo! is onto something?  Let us know what you think!

Thank to for the tip!

THE HUNGER GAMES: CATCHING FIRE Official Soundtrack List Released


It was already announced yesterday that Christina Aguilera will have  a song titled “We Remain” on the Catching Fire soundtrack.  And now, we have the official listing of the companion soundtrack.

NEW YORK, NY and SANTA MONICA, CA September 26, 2013 – Lionsgate (NYSE: LGF) and Republic Records today announced a powerful, star-studded lineup for the soundtrack to the motion picture The Hunger Games: Catching Fire, mixing established music icons including seven-time Grammy® winning band Coldplay, Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Patti Smith, and Grammy Award winning Christina Aguilera, along with some of the hottest Billboard chart topping newcomers in the music business.

Also top-lining this exceptionally talent-rich collection are The Lumineers, whose self-titled debut album achieved platinum sales status in the US, Canada (3x), UK, Ireland and Australia and Gold in Germany and France, with their hit single “Ho Hey” selling over 4.5 million single downloads in the US. Lorde, whose debut single “Royals” just made her the first female artist to top the Billboard Alternative Songs chart since Tracy Bonham in 1996, will also be featured on the soundtrack.

Multi-platinum alternative rock band Imagine Dragons, whose 6x platinum selling song “Radioactive” was dubbed “the biggest rock hit of the year” by Rolling Stone magazine; UK singer / songwriter Ellie Goulding whose recent release Halcyon Days includes platinum singles “Anything Could Happen” and “I Need Your Love;” Grammy-nominated singer and songwriter Sia, whose recent collaborations “Titanium” with David Guetta and “Wild Ones” with Flo Rida were both featured in the Billboard Hot 100 Top 10 hits; pop indie duo Phantogram, who have collaborated with Big Boi, graced the cover of Filter Magazine, and who will release their debut album this fall; and platinum-certified Icelandic folk collective Of Monsters and Men, which became an international presence with the ubiquitous single “Little Talks,” contribute tracks as well.

Acclaimed Brooklyn rockers The National, much buzzed about Nashville-based artist Mikky Ekko, the artist The Weeknd, and award-winning singer-songwriter Santigold round out the white-hot The Hunger Games: Catching Fire soundtrack, which has already seen its first release, Coldplay’s “Atlas,” debut at #1 on the iTunes Overall Top Songs chart. “Atlas” marks the first-ever motion picture soundtrack contribution written and recorded by Coldplay.

The soundtrack will be available in stores and through all digital retailers on November 19, 2013 just before the film opens worldwide on November 22, 2013. Right now, the album can be pre-ordered via the film’s official online store. Those who pre-order the soundtrack by October 27th will have an opportunity to have their names printed on an exclusive The Hunger Games: Catching Fire poster (while supplies last). All pre-orders unlock an instant download of Coldplay’s “Atlas” as well.

The unveiling of the film’s soundtrack today celebrates the 9-week mark in Lionsgate’s “TickTock” countdown campaign which reveals exciting new developments each week through The Hunger Games Explorer leading to the worldwide release of The Hunger Games: Catching Fire. Fans are encouraged to engage online to join the countdown excitement leading up to the highly anticipated second film not only by visiting The Hunger Games Explorer but also by using #TickTock9 across all social media this week.


1. “Atlas” – Coldplay

2. “Silhouettes” – Of Monsters and Men

3. “Elastic Heart” – Sia (ft. The Weeknd & Diplo)

4. “Lean” – The National

5. “We Remain” – Christina Aguilera

6. “Devil May Cry” – The Weeknd

7. “Who We Are” – Imagine Dragons

8. “Everybody Wants To Rule The World” – Lorde

9. “Gale Song” – The Lumineers

10. “Mirror” – Ellie Goulding

11. “Capital Letter” – Patti Smith

12. “Shooting Arrows At The Sky” – Santigold

13. “Place For Us” – Mikky Ekko

14. “Lights” – Phantogram

15. “Angel On Fire” – Antony & The Johnsons

The first Hunger Games partnership between Republic Records and Lionsgate yielded the Grammy Award-winning, chart-dominating The Hunger Games: Songs From District 12 And Beyond executive produced by T Bone Burnett.

The album hit #1 on the Billboard Top 200 on its release with sales over 175,000, making it the first soundtrack to top the chart since November 2009. It was the best-selling soundtrack of 2012, the fastest selling soundtrack ever at iTunes, and was certified gold by the RIAA shortly after its release. The album earned a Golden Globe Award nomination and three Grammy Award nominations, and its first single, Taylor Swift’s “Safe & Sound” featuring The Civil Wars, won the 2013 Grammy Award for “Best Song Written for Visual Media.”

So far, this companion soundtrack sounds a bit more varied in tone from The Hunger Games soundtrack.  What do you think so far?  Are you going to be cashing in on this soundtrack?

Thanks to for the tip!